Good ol’ TV. It’s good to have a TV in your living room, because it means that you can watch the great shows that are on it. Well, I wouldn’t say all the TV shows I’ve seen are ‘great’, but, there’s quite a large proportion of them over the years that make for a good watch. Whether I’m bored and I don’t know what to do, or I just want to watch telly; it’s always there, ready to be watched. So, whether it’s a good comedy, cartoon or a panel show: you can usually be entertained. So here’s my Top Ten TV shows:

10. My Name is Earl

When I think of TV shows, this is always one of the first that comes to mind. From it’s classic episode opener to it’s comedy and it’s unique stories and ideas; I love My Name is Earl. It’s just a shame it’s barely shown on telly anymore.

9. Impractical Jokers

Oh boy! Impractical Jokers! In case you’re wondering, I mean the US version and not the UK one – which is apparently mediocre. I love Impractical Jokers, and it never fails to make me laugh. Whichever Joker is your favourite, they all have their perks.

8. 8 Out of 10 Cats does Countdown

Screw normal 8 Out of 10 Cats when you’ve got this. This show both challenges your feeble brain and entertains you in the most silly ways possible; and I love it. It’s definitely the funniest panel show and the most silly, so it’s got to be somewhere on this list.

7. Fawlty Towers

Now this is good British comedy. There were only 12 episodes of this legendary show, but I’m pretty sure I’ve seen each one quite a lot. Every episode is as infuriating and stressful as the one before it, with each lie becoming a much bigger deal than it was supposed to. It does make for great comedy though, and Basil Fawlty is one of the best characters on any TV show.

6. Blackadder

From it’s theme song to Baldrick; Blackadder is brilliant comedy through and through, and it never gets old. My personal favourite series is definitely the final one, set in World War I, which embraces the sort of humour of the only poem I actually like: The General.

5. Spongebob Squarepants

What’s this? A gif?!

Oh, I see. Speedy’s a little child. It’s time to ignore everything he says. That’s what you thought when you saw this in the list, isn’t it. But I don’t care about what you think, honestly. Spongebob, from season 1 to 3 and parts of season 4 is a work of cartoon genius. However bad it’s been in recent years, in its first years, this show was amazing. From its ridiculous jokes to its unique characters and its fantastically silly script; I love this show. But the reason it’s as low as 5th is because of how terrible it’s got in recent years.

4. The IT Crowd

Who would’a thunk it? Another British comedy! I love this show and all of its characters, whether it’s Moss, Roy or Richmond. The IT Crowd has an always funny script and a load of unique ideas and settings, with every episode probably as good as the one before it. It uses countless parodies and Moss never seizes to entertain; and will the question of which boss is the best ever be answered? Probably not.

3. Futurama

This must be the best gif in history.

Futurama is one of the most consistent shows I’ve watched; always keeping at good quality and managing to have either a great story or a lorry-load of quotes in each episode. A work of genius by Matt Groening but not quite as good as something by him that may, possibly appear on this list.

2. Father Ted

I’m sorry, I lied. This is the best gif.

Comedy from Ireland, eh? It must be funny! And, boy, is Father Ted funny. I absolutely love Father Ted, whether it’s because without it Doogle would have never been made, or because it is the best live action comedy around, I don’t know. But it is a timeless classic, a treasure trove of quotes and can never be forgotten; with some of the best episodes ever, like the sheep one, the Chinese one and the one in which Ted kicks Bishop Brennan up the arse. It’s probably funnier than Tongan Ninja, and that’s saying something.

And now for the shows that didn’t quite get into the list (the ones in italics are the ones closest to getting into the list):

QI

Black Books

Only Fools and Horses

15 Storeys High

Top Gear

The Office

Red Dwarf

Scrubs

Malcolm in the Middle

Guess what. It’s number one.

1. The Simpsons

Yep. This is Matt Groening’s other show. Well, when I say other show, I mean his first and foremost, best show. And, in fact, the best show. I can’t deny that this show was far, far better than it has been in recent years when it was in it’s first 10 or so years; but it has stayed pretty good nonetheless. I’ve always loved The Simpsons, and it has countless classic episodes, quotes and moments; and it’s amazing amount of episodes makes it so that I can possibly see an episode I haven’t seen yet, so there is always something new. It’s truly a treasure trove of quotes and every episode has something that makes you laugh — even if it is the crap episode when Bart joins a Navy promoting boy band. It always surprises me how funny and entertaining all the older episodes are, and it’s always a nice surprise when I watch a genuinely great newer episode; so there is always something to enjoy.

This show is leaps and bounds ahead of any other. And now, some gifs!

And that’ll be all, folks!

One thought on “Top Ten TV Shows – Speedy

Leave a Reply

