Haven’t had one of these to wet your keen graphic novel appetites in a while, eh? Well, prepare for your appetites to be damped by the sweet, sweet, dark comedic juices that The Merc With A Mouth has to offer.

Let’s us kick off with a straight, hard fact. I love Deadpool. I have liked him for a long, long time. As I sit here and write this review, I have the hard copy of this book at hand, 70% to refer to, 30% to just plain enjoy. It is really entertaining reading and can have you laughing at the weird, self-referential jokes then wincing at the extreme violence in a matter of minutes.

Now, because I need a picture to keep your attention of this article, I’m going to insert a picture. However, due to the fact that there is a terrible selection of pictures related to this particular graphic novel on Google freakin’ Images, prepare yourself for a hilariously generic Deadpool picture.

Haha he is so hilarious.

(read in monotone) Haha. He is so funny.

The story is riding on the huge benefit of having a fourth-wall breaking character, with Deadpool stopping to address the reader so frequently that he almost becomes a parody of himself. When Doctor Bong (I haven’t heard of him either) creates a clone team of the Secret Avengers (consisting of Captain America, Black Widow and Taskmaster), they enlist the help of Deadpool to help with the fight for some reason, it isn’t really specified why. The side story, in my opinion, is a lot better than the main story. When a group of good vampires (or Draculas) need help defending themselves from bad “Draculas”, he also helps them out. So Deadpool is the good guy in this one. Yeah, I know.

Now for the bit that 90% of the people that read these reviews skip, where I ramble about the artwork! First, we’ll discuss (by “discuss” I mean you listen to me rant) the cover art, the featured image of the article. The artist is one Dave Johnson. You’re thinking “Who the heck is that?” and you’d be forgiven for thinking that, I did. After a tiny bit of research, I found that I actually own a poster of his artwork. So I like him. The cover, on the other hand, is a different story. I think it maybe the subtle use of brown that sort of frays the outline of Deadpool himself that detracts something for me. Also, the roughness of said lines make it look like a piece of art from a bad 70s movie poster, weither or not he was going for this effect is unknown to me, but I don’t like it, there I said it. Although I wasn’t a fan of the cover, the art on the pages feel a lot more polished and modern. It’s slightly strange how art work so traditional, or generic for those pesimists out there, look so good, and, to be honest, it is on the more generic side.

Overall, I Rule, You Suck is good read, not essiential, not brilliant, just pretty good. It’ll make you chuckle. Pick it up if it’s for a few pounds/dollars/pesos/rupees etc.

73/100

Lots of hugs, kisses and lacerations

Uncle Milo

Leave a Reply

