I love movies. I also equally love superheroes. Imagine growing up in a world where there is a (usually) top quality superhero movie out every year. Oh wait! I don’t have to. I live in that world and, although it would be nice to see the box office offer up more original films, there is nothing wrong with enjoying the pants off of a fun superhero blockbuster. Join me, would you, in a venture that will tell you the best comic book film, the tenth best comic book film and everything inbetween, in my opinion.

10. The Adventures of Tintin: Secret of the Unicorn

CA.1110.tintin.

This little minx needs to stop infiltrating my top tens. Not only one of my Top Ten Animated Films, this Indiana-Jonesesque family film gives you a classic adventure in a variety of different locations and with a cast of colourful characters (except for the tribesmen featured in “Tintin in the Congo”, thank God) and great sendbacks to Herge’s masterwork.

9. Iron Man

Iron Man

This film sent a rocket-powered boot up the ass of superhero films. Who’d have thunk that in the next four years there would be substantial superhero universe? Then, in the next three years after that, an entire roster of brilliant superhero films? I didn’t. Robert Downey Jr. was obviously born to portray Tony Stark, a strange coincidence seeing that the actor and the character had similiar circumstances (alcohol/drug addiction), entertaining one of my favourite fan theories; Marvel are growing actors to play their superheroes. Nevertheless, this revived the career of one of my all tim favourite actors and, without it, this list may not even exist.

8. Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Captain America

From one end of the Civil War to another, this was the first time we saw Captain America as less of a “hero” and more of a badass, demonstrated by this very, very cool scene;

Cap

Should’ve gotten out, bro.

And this;

Cool

This film also includes a super cool villain/misunderstood hero, The Winter Soldier;

Cars

Yes, he flips cars, Hellboy-stylee. However, that’s not all this bad mofo can do;

Soldier

And he can even pull off what we all thought impossible in what can only be described as one of the coolest movie moments of 2014;

Wintery

This, as you can see is a very cool movie.

God I love gifs.

God I love gifs.

7. Kingsman: The Secret Service

Film Title: Kingsman: The Secret Service Colin Firth

Speaking of coolness, this classfest was brought to us in the dawn of 2015 by Kickass Kick-Ass duo Matthew Vaughn and Mark Millar and, before I watched the explosiony, car-loving, acid-inducing Mad Max: Fury Road, it was my favourite film of the year. The film isn’t packed with pop culture references, more slightly dusted with them, like caster sugar on a delicious lemon drizzle, mmm, yummy. This isn’t your run-of-the-mill action comedy; there is actually some top quality action in it as well. There’s gunfights, hand-to-hand combat, tense elaborate villain traps, the works. This is essentially a parody of spy films but, in the process, one of the best in the genre was made.

6. The Dark Knight Rises

Dark Knight Rises

It wouldn’t be any sort of list regarding comic books without an appearance from the Caped Crusader, eh? This isn’t the best Batman film, so I’ll save you the trouble of skipping ahead; The Dark Knight is No. 4 on this list. Don’t get me wrong, though, this is a great, entertaining film and, although not as good as it’s predecessor, is a worthy send-off of one of the best superhero trilogies, nay, film trilogies of all time. That being said, the plot wasn’t too clear because, sadly, Bane had two issues; 1. He isn’t English, he was born in Santa Prisca Prison in Mexico. 2. He is unintellegable in what he was saying.

Holy halfway-through-list, Batman!

Foxy.

Foxy.

5. V For Vendetta

V for Vendetta

I love this. Everything to do with this. Actually, that was a lie. I love the graphic novel and the film. I do not like the mainstream exposure of the mask due to Anonymous’ use of it. It seems that now the mask that was once a cool, little in joke is now something that endless 12 year-old boys have as their Facebook profile picture because they’re “edgy”. These 12 year-old boys have never heard of V For Vendetta. These 12 year-old boys listen to nothing but Linkin Park and Serious Eminem. These 12 year-old boys are *SWEARING ALERT, DO NOT LOOK IF YOU ARE 21 OR OVER wankers.

Anyway! Back to the film. The action is seemless and very much screams Wachowski Brothers with beautiful choreography and it translates the political message of the comic very well with great performances from Hugo Weaving, Natalie Portman and John Hurt.

4. The Dark Knight

This is the part where I properly talk Batman. Actually, this is the part where I talk Batman films because, let’s be honest, The Dark Knight wasn’t really the star of The Dark Knight now, was he? If he was, I’d have a picture of Batman wouldn’t I. However, I don’t because Heath Ledger put in the performance of a lifetime as The Joker. The film didn’t really feel like a superhero movie, it felt like a serious crime thriller. It had an insane villain, marvelous set pieces and great sound and cinematography. How it didn’t win the Oscar I will never know. Oh wait, yes I do. It’s because the Academy are a bunch of old men who don’t give a rat’s ass about superhero films. I don’t know how I forgot that fact,

Holy Is-He-Really-Using-The-Same-Joke-Again-For-The-Top-Three-Split, Batman!

Shut up, Robin.

Shut up, Robin.

3. Guardians of the Galaxy

Guardians

You can read about how we at Stuff and that feel about this film on Speedy’s review of it. Actually, I’ll save you the time, energy and effort, we like it. That’s an understatement. We love it. It revitalised a genre that didn’t really need revitalising and the product was something that was even better than anything that we, the public, could have imagined. A catchy soundtrack, brilliant special effects, even more impressive practical effects, great performances, genuine laughs. These are just some of things that I can list that make this film tower above almost all of the rest.

2. Avengers Assemble

Avengers

Raise your hand if thought that something like this would be impossible;

Hands

Raise your hands if you experienced a slight braingasm at the sight of the trailer;

Hands

Now change ethnicity and jump if you saw this movie and loved it;

Hands

Need I say more? Yes, probably. However, I’ve been writing for a while so, unfortunately, I just can’t be arsed.

Holy A-Third-Time-Really?, Batman! Honourable Mentions!

X-Men: First Class

Akira

X-Men: Days of Future Past

RED

Edge of Tomorrow

Big Hero 6

Avengers: Age of Ultron

Avengers Assemble is my favourite superhero film. So what is my favourite comic book film? Eh? EH?! Let’s find out..

1. Scott Pilgrim vs. The World

Scott Pilgrim

Unlike V For Vendetta, I actually do love everything about this film. Let me count them;

The Film

The Series of Graphic Novels

The Soundtrack of The Film

The Game of The Film

Every Single Joke

Every Single Character

Every Single Performance

The Director

The Sound Effects

The Visual Effects

As you can see, I love this. It is my favourite thing, Scott Pilgrim. The graphic novels are some of the best things and the film is my favourite film of all time, let alone comic books. Michael Cera was a perfect mess, which is why his performance was so like the hero of the books. Mary Elizabeth Winstead also gave a great performance as the enigmatic “new kid on the block” Ramona Flowers, again mirroring the books. One of my favourite things about the film is how loyal it is to the source material, almost bordering on lazy. So much so that, instead of writing this top ten, I was toying with the idea of a comparison article, but I wasn’t bothered to watch and read everything again, though I would gladly do it than watching some of the crap that litters Sky Movies, gladly. Another great thing is the soundtrack, capturing the entire atmosphere with songs primarily written by Beck but also an appearance from the ever-cool Metric and The Bluetones. This, along with everything else that surrounds it, is why I have popped it on the top of this list.

Lots of hugs, kisses and lacerations.

Milo

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Comic Book Films – Milo

Leave a Reply

