This’ll be an interesting list, because I’ve said Heavy Songs, which could be a lot of things. Basically, I like heavy music. That’s pretty much the only music I listen to. So, regrettably there will be limited options for some of my favourite bands, like Red Hot Chili Peppers, Porcupine Tree, and The Mars Volta, as if I pick any songs by them they will be the heaviest possible. As in heavy, I’m pretty sure you know what I mean. It’s got lots of energy, it’s heavy sounding, all that. The umbrella term of “heavy” means basically anything that can be considered hard rock, heavy prog rock, punk and all things metal. I may do separate posts in the future actually, of my Top Ten Songs of my favourite five bands. Maybe. But as it stands I’m not doing that, I’m doing this. Oh! This’ll also be the first ever article on this here site which contains Youtube links, and not just crummy old pictures! And there’ll be only one song from any one artist. Have fun disagreeing with me and take a look/read/listen.

15. Mannequin Republic – At the Drive In

I really like that At the Drive In are back together. You know why? So I can hear more stuff like this.

It’s surprisingly powerful in its madness and is definitely the best punk rock song ever – along with being the best At the Drive In song, but that’s a given.

14. Lay Down – Priestess

Some of you may recognise this tune from good ol’ Guitar Hero III; if not, get off your asses and go on that game now. I don’t remember it from that game! But I’m not getting off my ass because I’m on my ass for a purpose… It’s not for this.

Listen to this beast of a rock song while you’re at it though.

13. Poor Millionaire – August Burns Red

I love August Burns Red, especially since I saw them live. It’s not the sort of music you can listen to all the time, as for its relentless qualities, but it’s damn good. If you’ve never heard of ’em before, they’re basically the best metalcore band around; and this is their best song. From the incredible drumming to the mosh-provoking-ness, this song is certainly one of the best metal songs around.

12. Chop Suey! – System of A Down

This, surely, is the best thing to come out of the early 2000’s rise of nu metal. I used to love System of A Down, now I quite like them; but I will never not love this classic song.

11. Tread Lightly – Mastodon

I tried to get Milo into Mastodon recently, but he didn’t like this song. I now hate him to the end of the Earth, because this song is amazing. Incredible power, catchiness and instrumental work as well as a fantastic overall sound makes Tread Lightly my favourite Mastodon song.

10. Ghost Walking – Lamb of God

Lamb of God are pretty ridiculous really. They’re mental at least. But that’s good when it comes to metal music, of course. This song, Ghost Walking, is their grooviest, coolest and catchiest song to date, and well deserves a place in this list over Redneck, in my opinion.

9. Whirl of Pain – Soilwork

Sorry about the crap video with this one, but the song does play, so you’ll be fine. I also accept that to first listeners this may sound slightly cheesy, but I assure you that it is an amazing song, and I don’t find any of it cheesy. In fact, I find it incredible in its power, musicality and unimaginable catchiness.

8. X-Ray Visions – Clutch

This is a new classic. Ridiculous in its lyrics, amazing in its music, listen to it now.

7. Cochise – Audioslave

This is proper hard rock. Audioslave were a genius band, and their first album was Chris Cornell’s best work. The riffage on display is some of the very best, and Cochise, as both a riff machine and a debut song for the band, is brilliant.

6. Suck My Kiss – Red Hot Chili Peppers

Ooh, Red Hot Chili Peppers! I love ’em, and if you don’t like them even slightly, the door is open. This is their heaviest song, as with its amazing riff and powerful bass, its funk metal at its finest – a genre which needs to be played more. It’s also better than that Priestess rubbish, and is the best Guitar Hero III song. Okay, okay, I’m sorry, Priestess is most definitely not rubbish.

5. Superunknown – Soundgarden

This song is the reason I say Soundgarden isn’t just simple “grunge”. Sure, I like grunge, but this is much better. There is so much music going on here, so much power, so much incredible guitarwork, so much incredible everything, really. It’ll blow you away like it did me, I hope. The only reason it’s as low as 5th is that I only first listened to it recently and the ones above are either somehow better or have nostalgia value over it. But it’s a song to be heard to be believed.

4. Halo – SOiL

This, my friends, is what you call nostalgia. Not only is it that, it’s friggin’ amazing. Angry, shouty, groovy metal at its very finest. My favourite metal song.

3. Killing in the Name – Rage Against the Machine

This is an indisputable classic. It’s that for a reason, though. Crammed full of Zack de la Rocha’s trademark rap-shouting, the aggression which comes with that and all the amazing riffage, power and groove which you can thank the other three for. Also it’s got the best lyrics ever.

2. Anesthetize – Porcupine Tree

This is the best prog rock song, full stop. It’s Steven Wilson’s genius in full force, in an incredible 17 minute masterpiece, which tips and turns with guitar solos, metal-like power, and Gavin Harrison’s top class drumming running through all 50,000 (approximately) parts of the song.

Honourable Mentions:

Vietnow – Rage Against the Machine

Bulls on Parade – Rage Against the Machine

Jewel of the Summertime – Audioslave

Show Me To Live – Audioslave

Second Life Syndrome – Riverside

Sworn to a Great Divide – Soilwork

Suffering – SOiL

My Curse – Killswitch Engage

Mariana’s Trench – August Burns Red

Leech – Sylosis

Seven Seas Blues – Monster Truck

D.C Sound Attack! – Clutch

The Last Baron – Mastodon

Soap on a Rope – Chickenfoot

We’rewolf – Every Time I Die

Viscera Eyes – The Mars Volta

To Holmgard and Beyond – Turisas

No One Knows – Queens of the Stone Age

Shallow – Porcupine Tree

A lot of Honourable Mentions. Well, here’s number one. Pretty much my favourite song ever:

1. Goliath – The Mars Volta

Yep. This is pretty much my favourite song ever. I did say that Anesthetize is the “best prog rock song, full stop”, but this is more of a prog punk metal jazz fusion funk djent hardcore alternative art steampunk rock song, to put it simply.

Consider that, and listen to this masterpiece right now.

– Reuben.

3 thoughts on “Top Fifteen Heavy Songs – Reuben

Leave a Reply

