As part of my proverbial foot-up-ass movement that I am experiencing right now, I said I’d do more Top Tens, so that’s what I’m gonna do. I haven’t done anything music related since December and Reuben just did his top fifteen heavy songs which bewilderingly included Red Hot Chili Peppers for some reason, plus I’ve already done a top ten rock songs and bands in general, both of which could be redone if you’re lucky, so the logical step would be a top ten albums. One album per artist, as always, and all sub-genres of rock and metal are allowed. I guess that’s it for the intro, yup.

10. Hot Fuss – The Killers (2004)

HFTK

The Killers were one of the bands that introduced me indie rock and at a young age. While Sam’s Town is definitely a close second, Hot Fuss sports a plethora of absolutely brilliant synth-tinged indie tracks with the added bonus of smooth, creamy nostalgia.

9. Live It Out – Metric (2005)

LIOM

As I put quite awfully in a terrible review that I deleted after THREE MONTHS (like that’s important), Live It Out is another album that introduced me to good music at a young age. Like Hot Fuss, Live It Out has an aura of electronica around it. However, this is emphasised with a slightly eerie sound throughout that is lost on The Killers’ album.

8. Your New Favourite Band – The Hives (2001)

YNFBTH

Though a collection shouldn’t really be allowed, this one captures the absolute standard for garage punk, a genre I don’t really know enough about to comment on. Oh well, the energy of the entire album, start to finish, resembles that of a squirrel who sprinkled crack on it’s Frosties in the morning. Moreover, for someone my age, the nostalgia is unreal. Seriously, play any extreme sports game on the PS2 and you’ll find one of their songs on the soundtrack.

7. Only Revolutions – Biffy Clyro (2009)

ORBC

By far and away their best album, Only Revolutions is packed full of Biffy Clyro’s heavy and energetic riffs, as well as catchy choruses and sturdy drum beats. There isn’t really too much wrong with nice, simple rock.

6. Elephant – The White Stripes (2003)

ETWS

For all future two-pieces out there, this is proof only one of you needs to actually be talented to make masterful music. I can’t deny that Meg White’s drumming isn’t the most complex, but I also can’t deny that Jack White is one of the most skilled guitarists of his generation, this and his second solo album Lazaretto prove this, the former winning over on both nostalgia and the overall energy felt throughout the album.

5. One By One – Foo Fighters (2002)

obo

Nothing’s changed, Foo Fighters are still my favourite band. However, their greatness is spread throughout their discography, making it difficult to pick just one. My reasons for picking One By One is the overall quality of the album and, though it is missing Long Road to Ruin, their BEST one, it does have Low, All My Life and Times Like These.

4. Rage Against The Machine – Eponymous (1992)

RATMRATM

THERE AIN’T NO NOSTALGIA FO’ THIS BEAST. The prestigious winner of the 2015 Best Thang of the Year Award for Best Album I Missed the First Time in the Milo category, RATM’s first effort is one of awesomeness, with songs like Freedom and Bombtrack. However, the jet engine that shot Rage’s ass into legend was, of course, Killing In The Name, with Tom Morello’s pioneering use of guitar effects, as well as Zack De La Rocha’s singing/whispering/rapping/SHOUTING and Tim Commerford’s funk-to-the-max bass lines.

3. Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not – Arctic Monkeys (2006)

WPSIATWINAM

The kings of indie rock, Arctic Monkeys, splurged onto the scene with this beast of an album, and it still reigns supreme among their stellar discography. One of the most perfectly consistent albums I’ve had the pleasure of listening to, Alex Turner’s pre Elvis wannabe poetic lyrics compliment Jamie Cook’s sweet riffs and Matt Helders’ absolutely inspiring drumming.

You think that was complimentary? We’ve still got two more to go. Watch me kiss ass like never before; because they deserve it.

2. Songs For The Deaf – Queens of the Stone Age (2002)

SFTDQOTSA

This is up there, definitely, as one of the most technically perfect rock albums ever produced, in my opinion. Singing – perfect, Guitar – perfect, Drums – perfect, I could go on. However, it’s not just that, it’s also the little things, like the hidden track and The Real Song For The Deaf, those little Easter eggs are what make most things for me. This is The Phantom Pain of Albums, or vice versa.

“Obnoxiously blocking your view of what’s no. 1” *mutter* *mutter*…

Royal Blood – Eponymous (2014)

Toxicity – System of a Down (2001)

First Impressions of Earth – The Strokes (2006)

Origin of Symmetry – Muse (2001)

Only By The Night – Kings of Leon (2008)

El Camino – The Black Keys (2011)

In Utero – Nirvana (1991)

Employment – Kaiser Chiefs (2005)

Psychic Warfare – Clutch (2015)

Other great albums by the artists that are already in the top ten

Blood Sugar Sex Magik – Red Hot Chili Peppers (1991)

Californication – Red Hot Chili Peppers (1999)

Lullabies to Paralyze – Queens of the Stone Age (2005)

Favourite Worst Nightmare – Arctic Monkeys (2007)

Battle of Los Angeles – Rage Against the Machine (1999)

Evil Empire – Rage Against the Machine (1996)

One by One – Foo Fighters (2002)

Wasting Light – Foo Fighters (2011)

There Is Nothing Left To Lose – Foo Fighters (1999)

The Colour And The Shape – Foo Fighters (1997)

Sam’s Town – The Killers (2006)

Black Holes And Revelations – Muse (2006)

Attack and Release – The Black Keys (2008)

So, I’ve got Foo Fighters, Queens of the Stone Age, Arctic Monkeys… hmm… Who could I be missing? Hmm……

1. By The Way – Red Hot Chili Peppers (2002)

BTWRHCP

Guess what I’ve been listening to the entire time I’ve been writing this! Well, the clue’s right above you, ya dingus. This may have been the most difficult one to decide, as Blood Sugar Sex Magic, with it’s awesomely funky funk funk, was creepin’ for a win. However, I couldn’t let the soundtrack to my earlier years get snubbed. Songs like the title track and Universally Speaking just remind me of when I was little, back when I didn’t know what Reuben was, let alone know one in the flesh, or whatever that is covering his skeleton. Moreover, Can’t Stop is just so, so perfect. By the way, I hope you got annoyed at my misspelling of “Magik”, if you didn’t, get out.

Lots of hugs, kisses and lacerations

Milo.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Rock Albums – Milo

Leave a Reply

