Bet you weren’t expecting a review of this sucka.

Today is Stuff And That’s birthday. As well as the copious amounts of content, we’ve done ourselves a lovely celebratory post. Last minute, after six straight hours of editing, posting and formatting loads of crap, I thought I’d leave it for tomorrow and do a RANKED. However, listening to sweet lyrical craftings of Jim Steinman, sung by Mr. Loaf’s top-notch vocal performance, I couldn’t help but be inspired to do something for y’all. Be it only small.

Though I never have been too much of a fan of the classic rock genre, when my dad recommended this album to me, and I gave it a listen, I was blown away by brilliant energy packed into the 7 tracks on the disc.

Obviously, M Loaf himself is a fantastic performer and never has proved it better than on this album. His voice has such raw power to it that you can’t help but be completely swayed into an overall trance of happiness. Though some songs are ballads and have a more sombre atmosphere, the rest, in particular songs like All Revved Up With No Place To Go (my favourite) and the title track, embody the feelgood atmosphere that inspired me to write this review in the first place.

Though Loafy McGee is the driving force behind this record, the creative force comes from Jim Steinman, who wrote all the songs and music. The way he is able to weave stories throughout the album is incredible, emphasised by Loaf’s delivery. The songwriting is really able to shine on the more softer tracks like Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad, where the focus is less on the music and more on the words being crafted.

However, who cares ’bout that crap? Pussays. That’s who. In all seriousness, though, I find the album to be at it’s best when pumping out da choonage, boi.

These songs include the aforementioned All Revved Up With No Place To Go.

This song is my favourite of the bunch thanks to the light feel of the track throughout. The rock saxophone, which is the best combination of words since “super size”, really gives it that seventies edge which I love to absolute bits, I’m not all about the 80s, y’know. The song builds to an absolutely awesome finale which can only be described as one of the greatest in rock history.

Speaking of the seventies, in the more catchier songs on the record there is a definite influence of Rocky Horror, which came out two years prior. Not to say, this is a bad thing, however, as I adore the songs in Rocky Horror and found this to be one of the better comparisons to the album.

Overall, Bat Out Of Hell is a top notch album. Meat Loaf is one of my favourite vocalists of all time and it’s easy to see why, he has a natural charisma and energy in his voice. The only thing I could fault it for is that I wanted more songs like the title track and less like Heaven Can Wait. This is an album you’d have to listen to somewhen, it’s unavoidable mate.

______________________________________________

82/100

______________________________________________

Lots of hugs, kisses and lacerations

Milo

Leave a Reply

