As you all must, MUST, know, I don’t write these opinion articles/rants very often. And when I do, it’s usually complaining about something. As is the case today.

Milo here, from the director of Insidious and Paranormal Activity.

As I’ve said on multiple occasions, the more my movie tastes mature, the more I have become partial to a horror movie. However, because I don’t like crap movies, I only watch the good ones, obviously. Unfortunately, from what I can see, all mainstream horror movies are the same– and they’re all crap.

You know the ones. “From the director of Paranormal Activity and Insidious, starring Ethan Hawke as the good father who uncovers a deadly secret after moving to a new house.” Kill me now.

The bit that inspired me to write this article is the “From the director of Paranormal Activity and Insidious” bit, as that seems to be at the top of the posters and the start of the trailers for every single one of these generic shite fests. And it’s only happened in the past ten years as well, since we started getting silly amounts of Saw sequels, which I’m not overly against, because at least Saw has some sort of original idea driving it, well, in the first few, anyway. It happened when Paranormal Activity hit screens back in 2007. Again, I’m not against the first Paranormal Activity, it had a schtick that was pretty new back then. But. But, then we got another one, then another one, then another one. Then, Insidious came about, and it all went to sh*t.

Insidious marked the beginning of the end for mainstream horror.

After Insidious came about and scared the bejeezus out of everyone through lazy-ass CGI and jumps, which I loathe, we got two other Insidious films (with another in the pipeline), Mama, Sinister, The Conjuring, Annabelle, The Conjuring 2, Oculus, among others. Am I the only one here who sees that these are all literally the exact same film? A similar argument could be put forward for comedy, action, any genre really. However, horror is definitely the most prominent.

I touched briefly upon how I loathe lazy ass CGI and jump scares. This is mainly due to two factors; Their laziness and their bloody efficiency. Both of these as well, not just both separately, they both have to be one to get on my tits. I hate being scared by really stupid stuff, which is what most of the scares in these films are made up by. There’s no suspense being built, like in films like The Exorcist, no haunting performances, like Silence of the Lambs, not even any gratuitous gore, like Saw. The last one really gets on my tits because gratuitous gore is another lazy tactic, but these films don’t use them so they can keep their 15 rating for MAXIMUM PROFIT.

Which brings me onto the broader point that’s always in these things, making movies for money. I hate it. I hate the fact that movies are judged on box office takings rather than quality. So we get four Transformers films but none of them rated higher than 7.0 on IMDb. So no-one loves these films and yet we bloody loads of them. Rather than quality films, like The Big Lebowski, took almost 20 years for so much as a spinoff (that’s actually happening).

Anyway, I think I’ve said all I’ve wanted to say. I’m not really very good at these things, so yeah.

Lots of hugs, kisses and lacerations

Milo

2 thoughts on “Who’s Directing All These Horror Movies?

  1. I would have to agree that a lot of horror franchises have just gone too far and lost their originality. But hey – I found Sinister scary as HELL. Even though it’s the same formula as a lot of others as you mention.

    It’s nice when a unique horror comes along, but it takes a lot to be unique these days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad I got the general gist through in this one, these sort of articles aren’t really my speciality. However, I think we’re taking a step in the right direction because Don’t Breathe is one of the first horror movies I’ve been genuinely excited about in a very long time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

