Side Note: Don’t worry about the Slipknot featured image, it won’t be that kind of list.

Milo here, listening to Blink-182, my parents just don’t get it.

I’ve recently been trying, unsuccessfully, to sit down and write an album review. Then I figured “What’s the point?” and took Reuben’s idea. He might unleash his fury upon me, so here’s a link to his top ten.

However, I’m not a complete hack, so I’ve tweaked it a bit. Rather than prohibiting myself to just rock and metal, I’m allowing all genres into my lil’ list but, looking at it, it’s mainly rock and metal. I’m also keeping myself to one song per band, so I’ll get these extra honorable mentions out of the way:

Around The World, Suck My Kiss, Californication, Under The Bridge, Easily, Walkabout, Savior, Get On Top, Aeroplane, The Power Of Equality, If You Have To Ask, Breaking The Girl, Funky Monks, Suck My Kiss, Mellowship Slinky In B Major, Apache Rose Peacock – Red Hot Chili Peppers

Stacked Actors, Breakout, Monkey Wrench, My Hero, Everlong, This Is A Call, I’ll Stick Around, Big Me – Foo Fighters

Testify, Guerrilla Radio, Calm Like A Bomb, Sleep Now In The Fire, New Millennium Homes, Bombtrack, Killing In The Name, Know Your Enemy, Freedom, Vietnow, Down Rodeo, Year Of Tha Boomerang – Rage Against The Machine

Okaaaaaayyyyy, let’s do a list thing!

10. No Surprises – Radiohead (OK Computer, 1997)

This place almost went to Just, off of Radiohead’s 1995 album The Bends, simply down to the straight up riffage on that track. However, why not mix it up a bit? Besides, we’ll have plenty of riffage later. OK Computer marked the beginning of a shift in Radiohead’s creative direction, from relatively safe but pretty good indie rockers to the weird, experimental stuff they do today, and has since been acclaimed as one of the best albums ever. Period. Now, while I wouldn’t call myself a Radiohead superfan, with songs like No Surprises, it’s hard to argue. The song showcases Thom Yorkes vocals with an almost hypnotic melody. What a beautifully structured song, and a nice way to kick us off.

9. Black Hole Sun – Soundgarden (Superunknown, 1994)

This is the first grunge song on the list, and it won’t be the last. While I’m not ass-over-tits in love with Soundgarden, like Reuben is, in the admittedly samey world of grunge, they managed to stand out, thanks to the still-developing-but-flippin’-impressive vocals of Chris Cornell and their distorted sound about them. As Reuben would say, Black Hole Sun is, in my opinion, Soundgarden’s magnum opus because it sums up their sound to a T, while also being the most unique thing on the album. And it’s bloody catchy.

8. Around The Fur – Deftones (Around The Fur, 1997)

Image result for around the fur

Hey! Do you want to hear a man flip the f**k out? I’m sure you do. Well don’t worry, this song has you covered. Since it’s become very possible that I might be seeing Deftones live in the coming year, I plan on kaning their albums and 1997’s Around The Fur is definitely my favourite by them. It contains a raw, aggressive sound that is epitomised in this track, with frontman Chino Moreno going literally mental in the chorus. If it wasn’t for System Of A Down, this would, without a doubt, be my favourite nu-metal song, and I don’t even like nu-metal.

7. Insane In The Brain – Cypress Hill (Black Sunday, 1993)

I like Cypress Hill. I’ve gotten royally into them over the past year with Black Sunday being one of my favourite hip-hop albums. While it may not be a masterpiece of wordsmithing, the lead single from that album, and easily Cypress Hill’s biggest hit, is a spectacularly fun listen. The main sample used on the song has got a brilliant groove to it which makes the delivery from the rappers all the more welcoming, and the scratching doesn’t go unappreciated either. However, what makes this song is obviously B-Real’s trademark flow I… can’t… even put it into words. This isn’t technically as impressive as the other songs on this list but it’s a helluva good time.

6. In Bloom – Nirvana (Nevermind, 1991)

Told you there’d be more grunge. To some, Nirvana were the 90s. However, I was born in 2001 so, y’know. However, I was exposed to Nirvana as soon I was showing the telltale signs of a music fan so I’ve always listened to ’em. While Smells Like Teen Spirit propelled them to worldwide fame and remains one of their fan favourites, the sludgy, bass-driven riff and absolute POUNDING of the drums by Grohl make this my favourite Nirvana song.

5. Closer – Nine Inch Nails (The Downward Spiral, 1994)

THIS VIDEO’S A BIT RUDE, SO KEEP THAT IN MIND, BOIII.

If I haven’t hammered it home enough times, I’m a fan of Trent’s Tent Of Perverted Content, or Nine Inch Nails. One of the most musically impressive songs I’ve heard, the insane amount of sounds that fill this song’s 6 minute runtime layer on top of each other like a dirty orgy of industrial metal. Reznor’s sexually charged lyrics are met with an equally filthy performance that has gain the song, and it’s video, a large amount of notoriety. It nails (I know I already used this pun, but it’s a bloody goodun’) the very disturbing sound that, for some people, can turn them on, for others, can rip the switch out the socket, wrap it in fetish gear and throw it down a well.

4. Sabotage – Beastie Boys (Ill Communication, 1994)

Well wouldy’a look at that? That ol’ chestnut nostalgia’s come back to play. While I obviously wasn’t even a concept when this riff/rhyme machine was big, some of earliest, and I mean earliest, memories were soundtracked by this and another Beastie Boys song Intergalactic. While my rose-tinted glasses have failed me before, they were complete right regarding this song, as it is just as good as I remember it being. The rapping from all three is equally aggressive and chaotic as you’d expect it to be, the heavily distorted bass and guitar riffs are some of the best in the rap-rock genre, a category that includes RATM, the scratching is incredible, as per, and the drums… uhh… the drums. Coming from someone who has and is attempting, and usually failing, the drums, the insanely offbeat pattern that Mike D manages never ceases to amaze me.

3. Bulls On Parade – Rage Against The Machine (Evil Empire, 1996)

What a motherflippin’ song. Second on Reuben’s list and for good reason, this banger from RATM’s sophomore effort Evil Empire contains some of the best individual parts of any song… ever made… fight me. Timmy C never fails to deliver with a superb bassline and this song is no exception, simultaneous supporting the badass riff and keeping the overall groove of the song intact. That badass riff comes from the legendary Tom Morello. There are two riffs in this song, the chorus riff is great and good and cool. However, the verse riff is probably one of the best riffs ever put to the instrument. I mean he even gets some scratching in there. Brad Wilk once more puts in another drumming favourite of mine. Like the guitarist, De La Rocha works best in the verses and, unlike Cypress Hill, is an amazing wordsmith, so much so that the second verse of this song is probably, no, definitely my favourite rap of all time. So what can beat it?

2. Learn To Fly – Foo Fighters (There Is Nothing Left To Lose, 1999)

I couldn’t have Bulls On Parade as no. 2 for reasons that will become apparent, what a tease I am. However, that doesn’t, in the slightest, take away from the legendary status of this song. A huge mainstream hit for the Foos, it’s no wonder when you listen to the instantly catchy riff that guitarist and vocalist Dave Grohl pumps out. Unlike Bulls On Parade or any notable RATM effort, there is no message to this song, no meaningful lyrics, it’s just pure fun and a feel-good atmosphere on this track, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I wasn’t even a babber when these honourable mentions were on the radio, how lovely that must’ve been.

Spit It Out – Slipknot (Slipknot, 1999)

Oh Shit – The Pharcyde (Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde, 1992)

The Beautiful People – Marilyn Manson (Antichrist Superstar, 1996)

Puddin’ Taine – Primus (Brown Album, 1997)

Celebrity Skin – Hole (Celebrity Skin, 1998)

Girls & Boys – Blur (Parklife, 1994)

Mexicola – Queens Of The Stone Age (Queens Of The Stone Age, 1998)

Green Machine – Kyuss (Blues For The Red Sun, 1992)

Even Flow – Pearl Jam (Ten, 1991)

NUMBERONE. ALLsTAr –  SMAShMoutH – shRek.

kill me.

1. Give It Away – Red Hot Chili Peppers (Blood Sugar Sex Magik, 1991)

This is the reason. I couldn’t have the exact same top two as Reuben could I? And I sure as hell wasn’t forfeiting this absolute beast of a song. Indeed, the love for RHCP here at Stuff And That hasn’t been so high since June and you can see why we love them so much, I mean just listen to this. In a time where grunge dominated the charts, with the release of Nirvana’s Nevermind being on the same day as this, The Chili Peppers must’ve thought “Nah, not for us” then dipped themselves in silver paint and went to dance in the desert. Kiedis’ vocals are unmatched with his nonsensical rap-rock stylings coming in full view, much like his upskirt shots in the video. Flea, like always, provides so much funk that it leaks out of my headphones whenever I listen to it. Chad Smith drums offbeat like no-one else can and John Frusciante provides the riff, the sweet shell to the lovely goodies inside, much like a Kinder Egg, if Kinder Eggs weren’t mingin’.

Lots of hugs, kisses and lacerations

Milo

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Songs Of The 1990s – Milo

Leave a Reply

