I like myself a bit of music. Who doesn’t? I like myself a bit of listing random stuff. Who doesn’t? A lot of people actually. Well, tough. Like my Graphic Novel edition, I will probably edit this post if I find a new favourite, or addition. But, as of right now, these are my favourite bands.

10. Royal Blood

Royal Blood

Who’d have thunk it? Two dudes from Brighton, make sweet, sweet music and released it to the world last year. I don’t know how big they are in the States or anywhere else for that matter, but they’re big here in the UK, and I hope they’ll stay that way for a long, long time. Their sound is on the edge of hard rock but just enough to keep them accessable. This is the perfect entry point to heavier stuff.

9. Queens of the Stone Age

These guys know hard rock. Need I say more? Yes, yes I do. With Josh Homme’s haunting singing style and Nick Oliviera’s lush, subtle basslines, their entire discography is brill-to-the-iant, but if you only listen to one album, listen to 2002’s Songs for the Deaf, featuring the multi-talented Dave Grohl as guest drummer, a god among men who could, possibly, maybe, perhaps be making another appearance on this list…

8. The White Stripes

The White Stripes

Let’s go a little bit mellower, not much, a little bit. Though, sadly, they are no longer together, Meg and Jack White made a few great albums, especially 2003’s Elephant, which includes the smash hit, Seven Nation Army, along with a number of other fantastic songs. Their early stuff is a lot rockier than their later, more country-western orientated material.

7. Gorillaz

Gorillaz Oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooh, let’s get different. Let’s get weird. Let’s get alternative. One of the first bands I ever loved, along with The White Stripes, I like to listen to Gorillaz when I’m sick to death of rock and metal (a rare occurance) or if I’m just in the mood. With elements of indie, dance, electro and hip hop, there isn’t a lot like it, but it’s refreshing from the other stuff out there.

6. The Killers

The Killers

These guys are bit up their own arses as of late, but their early stuff, namely Hot Fuss, is the stuff of indie rock legend. Incorporating synth into their work, something that distinguishes them from the other acts of the genre. They may be a bit pretentious but, if they can make something as good as Hot Fuss, I think I could forgive them.

Shizzles gettin rizzles, it’s the TOP FIVE. OH YEAH.

5. Arctic Monkeys

Arctic Monkeys

What is up with people I like and them having their heads up themselves? I’m looking at you, Mr. Turner. Looking. At. You. Apart from that though, I like everything about this band, the singing, the drumming, the guitaring, the bassering? Yeah! The bassering. It’s hard to pick one album as their best but, gun to head, hand on heart, back to wall, I’d pick their first, Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not. It just has their best songs. If you want something more accessable, try 2013’s AM.

4. Jamiroquai

Jamiroquai

Once again another weird one, once again another pretentious lead singer. I am not ashamed to say in front of my metalhead compadre Speedy that this is my favourite non-metal, non-rock band. Their music just puts me in a good mood. If you’ve heard them, great! If you haven’t, I can’t stress this enough, if you take nothing else away from this article, listen to Canned Heat and just go from there. Please. Please, just listen to them. They are so good. You will be happy for the rest of your life if you listen to them. Go on.

CALL THE COPS BECAUSE THESE BANDS ARE TOO GOOD (and I robbed your grandad)

3. Rage Against The Machine

Never before have I been introduced to a band and instantly been attached to their music, but that’s exactly what happen with RATM. I was nagged, essentially, by Speedy to listen to this band, so, one day, I popped on Battle of Los Angeles and was chewed up, spat out, thrown in the bin and incinerated by the funk blast that De la Rocha and co. had to offer. I haven’t been able to turn it off since. In fact, I haven’t moved since then. Unwashed and lonely, I am writing this article, and all other articles, telepathically and, as I listen to Battle of Los Angeles, wait for a slow, painless death.

ONLY JOKING! WHAT AM I LIKE, EH? EH?! LAUGH! LOVE ME! PLEASE! please.

2. Red Hot Chili Peppers

Red Hot Chilli Peppers

I’ve loved this band for longish time. There isn’t anything bad I could say about them. I mean look at Flea’s face in that picture. Who’d want to say a bad word to that face? I wouldn’t. Their styles are unique to them, funk-rock, rap-rock. Each member has mastered their craft. Above is my personal favourite line-up, Anthony Keidis, Chad Smith, John Fruschiante and Flea. This is the line up behind my favourite RHCP album, and favourite album of all time for that matter, By the Way.

Before we get to No.1, let us take a moment for the ones that weren’t good enough, to put it bluntly:

Biffy Clyro

Deap Vally

Deftones

Every Time I Die

Feed the Rhino

Guns N Roses

The Heavy

The Hives

Kaiser Chiefs

Kings of Leon

Metric

Nirvana

Tenacious D

And now, the moment you’ve been waiting for. Well, some of you. The others skipped ahead. You think I don’t know? I do know. I don’t like you. Get out.

1. Foo Fighters

Foo Fighters

You think rock? I think Foo Fighters. These guys are the definition of rock. Like RHCP, these guys are masters of the respected instruments. Their music is so clean, accessable, fast, just perfect in every way. After Nirvana disbanded, drummer Dave Grohl got straight back on the wagon and formed a little four piece rock outfit, created an album in his garage and, you know, just went and won a Grammy. 20 years later, they still kick ass. It isn’t just their music that makes them amazing, they can take a joke, they are all about the fans and they all seem like down to earth, great guys. They are the first band I ever loved, my introduction to rock and something that probably made me into the man-type thing that I am today.

Lots of hugs, kisses and lacerations

Uncle Milo

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Bands That Do Music. – Milo

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.