Milo here.

Dammit, these things are an addiction. If I’m oversaturating y’all with these, lemme know. It’s becoming a PROBLEM.

Err, anyway. Welcome to another Milo’s Music Mayhem, where I check a song and tell you to check a song and we’re all just checkin’ songs.

Today, we’re checkin’ the opener from Arctic Monkeys’ brilliant debut album, Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not, The View From The Afternoon. Check the video below:

Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not is arguably one of the greatest debut albums of all time, it’s my favourite at the least. The pure raucous energy and thick accents from the four Sheffield teenagers comes at full blast on every single track. So what song to better open it than one that’ll literally make a sucka bleed. As you can see from the video, the drumming, courtesy of Matt Helders, is the obvious focus point of the song, with the hi-hat heavy beat and MASSIVE variety of fills attacking the listener from where they least expect it. The technicality on display here from Helders, as an amateur (in all senses of the word) drummer myself, is simply astounding. With this, we have frontman Alex Turner’s council estate poetry and charismatic delivery providing a great narrative, and a slightly all over the place riff that dodges the mental sh*t that the drums are doing. With all of this combined, and on full show, it definitely gives the listener an idea of what’s to come.

I mean, there just so nice and little. I like writing ’em! It’s not a problem. Is it? IS IT??

Lots of hugs, kisses and lacerations
Milo.

4 thoughts on “MMM: #521 The View From The Afternoon – Arctic Monkeys

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.